You are here: Home / News & Events / News / Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of NORD and the Orphan Drug Act!

Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of NORD and the Orphan Drug Act!

Images from NORD's 30th Anniversary Celebration

Read more about the event.

NORD President Peter L. Saltonstall and President Emeritus Abbey S. Meyers

Rep. Henry Waxman, the author and primary sponsor of the Orphan Drug Act

Heroes honored for their pioneering work were Abbey Meyers, Dr. Marlene Haffer, Lars-Uno Larsson, Dr. Jess Thoene and Dr. Stephen Groft

Susan Hattan (representing Sen. Nancy Kassebaum), Rep. Henry Waxman, and William Corr, honored for leadership related to the Orphan Drug Act

Guest Emcee Deputy Surgeon General Dr. Boris Lushniak

Frank Sasinowski, recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award, with his son Tom

Representing patients for whom orphan products were approved in 2012: Christian Jacobs, Reina Weiner, Kathryn Bundy, and Marybeth Krummenacker

Guests representing the Pulmonary Hypertension Association and Hermansky-Pudlack community

Young advocates Megan Barron, Brooke Foster and Ian Brown

Peter L. Saltonstall of NORD, Dr. Gayatri Rao of FDA and Dr. Stephen Groft of NIH

Abbey Meyers, Peter L. Saltonstall, and Representative Henry Waxman

Brooke Foster and honoree Dr. Marlene Haffner

Young advocate Ian Brown and his mother, Tracy

The Mellon Auditorium

Honoree Lars-Uno Larsson

The Howard University Jazz Ensemble

Four companies (Aegerion, NPS, Onyx and Sigma-Tau) were honored for products brought to market in 2012.

American Idol finalist Siobhan Magnus

Pam Gavin of NORD with patient presenter Megan Barron and Megan's mother, Betsy Ward

NORD President Emeritus Abbey Meyers

Read more about the Event

Copyright ©2014 NORD - National Organization for Rare Disorders, Inc. All rights reserved.
The following trademarks/registered service marks are owned by NORD: NORD, National Organization for Rare Disorders, the NORD logo, RareConnect. .